## Medical Marijuana in Missouri:

Medical marijuana uses the marijuana plant or chemicals in it for the benefit of a qualifying patient to mitigate the symptoms or effects of the patient's qualifying medical condition. It must contain tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) content of greater than 0.3% on a dry weight basis. Medical marijuana is not the same as hemp extract, which contains less than 0.3% THC.

Applications for medical marijuana patient and/or caregiver licenses are only accepted through the official online registry that is accessible at www.medicalmarijuana.mo.gov. Only the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) has the authority to issue licenses to qualifying patients and/or their caregivers for the purpose of possessing and purchasing medical marijuana. Please be advised that DHSS has 30 days to process applications from the date of submission.

Licensed patients and/or their licensed caregiver can purchase medical marijuana from a Missouri licensed dispensary. Medical marijuana products sold at dispensaries must have passed all required safety testing and comply with packaging and labeling requirements.

Only physicians who are licensed and in good standing to practice medicine or osteopathy under Missouri law may, **but are not mandated to**, certify qualifying patients. The practice of medicine or osteopathy means practice by persons who hold a license pursuant to Chapter 334, RSMo, including those who are admitted to practice in Missouri by reciprocity pursuant to section 334.043, RSMo.



# As a physician, you will be asked to:

- Meet with and examine the patient.
- Review the patient's medical records or medical history and the patient's current medications and allergies to medications.
- Discuss with the patient, or the patient's custodial parent or legal guardian, the patient's current symptoms.
- In the case of a non-emancipated patient under the age of 18, obtain the written consent of a custodial parent or legal guardian who will serve as a primary caregiver for the patient.
- Create a medical record for the patient documenting the meeting and maintain the qualifying patient's medical record as required in 334.097 RSMo.
- Discuss with the patient, or the patient's custodial parent or legal guardian, risks associated with medical marijuana including known contraindications applicable to the patient.
- Discuss with the patient, or the patient's custodial parent or legal guardian, the risks of medical marijuana use to a fetus and the risks of medical marijuana use to breastfeeding infants.
- Complete the Physician Certification Form attesting it is your opinion the patient suffers from a qualifying medical condition.

#### **Patient Qualifications:**

- Be a Missouri resident.
- Have a qualifying medical condition.

#### **The Physician Certification Form:**

- Is not a prescription, but an attestation that the qualifying patient has a qualifying medical condition.
- Is required annually for patient licensure.
- Must be completed in its entirety and signed by the physician.
- Cannot be issued by the physician more than thirty (30) days prior to the patient submitting their online application.

Qualifying patients, who need more than four ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana, or its equivalency, in a 30-day period, must obtain two independent physician certifications that specify what other amount is needed (19 CSR 30-95.030(2)(A)(5)B).

DHSS does not maintain a list of physicians or refer patients to physicians willing to certify patients.

Patients should consider discussing benefits, risks, potential side-effects, and interactions with other medications when determining their treatment regimen. Each individual experiences the effects of THC differently, and the effects of THC can be faster or slower depending on method of consumption. Thus, it is a good practice for patients to keep a marijuana-use log to periodically review with their physician in order to help establish their ideal marijuana treatment regimen.

## **Qualifying Medical Conditions:**

- Cancer.
- Epilepsy.
- Glaucoma.
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment.
- A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson's disease, and Tourette's syndrome.
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress order, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist.
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome.
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication.
- A terminal illness.
- In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn's disease, Huntington's disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer's disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.

#### Contact us at:

The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation

P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102

medicalmarijuana.mo.gov

email: MedicalMarijuanaInfo@health.mo.gov

Main number: 573-751-6234

(8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday)

Toll-free Call Center: 866-219-0165 (8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m., Monday-Friday)



An EO/AA employer: Services provided on a nondiscriminatory basis.

Individuals who are deaf, hard-of-hearing, or have a
speech disability can dial 711 or 1-800-735-2966.

#227 04/2020

# Medical Marijuana in Missouri

# **Physician Information**



Article XIV Section 1: Right to Access Medical Marijuana amended the Missouri Constitution on December 6, 2018.

Article XIV Section 1 allows patients with qualifying medical conditions the right to discuss freely with their physicians the possible benefits of medical marijuana use, the right of their physicians to provide professional advice concerning the same, and the right to use medical marijuana for treatment under the supervision of a physician.

A physician shall not be subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under Missouri law or discipline by the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts, or its successor agency, for owning, operating, investing in, being employed by, or contracting with any entity licensed or certified pursuant to this section or issuing a physician certification to a patient diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition in a manner consistent with this section and legal standards of professional conduct.