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DEA No Longer Requires “X” 
Waiver for Opiate Abuse Disorder 
Prescriptions
Previously, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 
would authorize certain practitioners to prescribe 
buprenorphine products for the treatment of opiate 
abuse disorder. The DEA required practitioners to 
obtain additional training and then the DEA would add 
an “X” to their DEA number.

The DEA has ended this practice. Now all authorized 
practitioners are allowed to treat opiate abuse disorder 
within their scope of practice and the “X” waiver is no 
longer required.

In Missouri, mid-level practitioners are still authorized 
to prescribe a 30-day supply of buprenorphine to treat 
opioid abuse disorder. If the mid-level’s prescription 
was for the treatment of pain, they would be limited to 
a 5-day supply.  

The Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 
does not have any state-level regulations regarding the 
“X” waiver so practitioners may follow the new federal 
guidelines.

New BNDD Regulations in Effect 
Impacting Applications for 
Registrations
The Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous 
Drugs (BNDD) receives and processes 
approximately 35,000 applications per year. Ninety-
five percent of these are received electronically 
through our online application database. This 
allows the bureau to process these applications 
usually within one business day and operate 
paperless.  This avoids the mail, fee receipt office, 
data entry, and archiving. The bureau receives 
about 5% of its applications each year on paper.

Effective March 1, 2023, the BNDD regulations 
have been updated to require all applications to 
be submitted electronically online.  The amended 
regulation is 19 CSR 30-1.017. This will allow the 
bureau to operate more effectively and efficiently, 
and save costs on the paper applications. It is 
consistent with electronic medical records going 
electronic, the mandatory electronic prescribing of 
controlled substances and the DEA is moving to a 
required online application process.

BNDD Online Loss Reporting System to Change URL Reporting Site 
The Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs has a link on its website to report losses, thefts and 
diversions. The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services is upgrading security in this database 
and others.  The link and URL for this reporting site will change slightly.  The bureau is arranging that anyone 
visiting our loss reporting link be re-directed to the new URL site. If you have this loss reporting site saved 
as a favorite on your computer, please save the new URL site as a favorite.
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BNDD has received reports of physicians who are electronically prescribing amphetamine and dextroamphetamine 
products.  The patients learn there is a shortage right now and this causes physicians to cancel the first 
prescription and then issue new prescriptions until a different pharmacy can be found that has the drug in supply.
	
Due to the shortage, the physicians may choose to issue a written prescription.  Physicians are covered under 
an exemption in Section 195.550.1(1) & (11), RSMo which states:

	1.  Notwithstanding any other provision of this section or any other law to the contrary, beginning January 1, 
2021, no person shall issue any prescription in this state for any Schedule II, III, or IV controlled substance 
unless the prescription is made by electronic prescription from the person issuing the prescription to a 
pharmacy, except for prescriptions:

(10)  Issued by a practitioner under circumstances where, notwithstanding the practitioner’s present 
ability to make an electronic prescription as required by this subsection, such practitioner 
reasonably determines that it would be impractical for the patient to obtain substances prescribed 
by electronic prescription in a timely manner, and such delay would adversely impact the patient’s 
medical condition; or

(11)  Issued where the patient specifically requests a written prescription.

Drug Shortages Can Exempt Electronic Prescribing Requirement

The DEA has announced their next national take-back 
day is Saturday, April 22, 2023 from 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. Law 
enforcement agencies are authorized to collect unwanted 
medications for disposal. Additional information can be 
obtained here.
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